Taaldag 2020

Due to the coronavirus pandemic the Linguists’ Day
will be postponed to Friday 16 October 2020.
The new deadline for submission is 8 September 2020.
Abstracts already submitted will be kept for reviewing.

The annual Linguists’ Day of the LSB (Linguistic Society of Belgium) will be organized this year on Friday, 15 May 2020 16 October 2020 at the University of Namur (Rue de Bruxelles 61, 5000 Namur).

All necessary covid-19 measures will be in place during the day. If the sanitary situation changes, the organizers may take the decision to change the date again.  

Abstracts are invited for 20’ talks (followed by 10’ discussion) on any linguistic topic. Abstracts can be in one of the three national languages (Dutch, French, German), in LSFB (French Belgian Sign Language) or in English. They should be anonymous, no longer than 500 words at most (without references), and indicate topic, objectives, data, method, and (preliminary) results. PhD students are encouraged to send their abstracts.

Abstracts can be submitted until Tuesday 8 September 2020 at midnight to Easychair.

You will receive notification of acceptance by 30 September 2020.

Attendance is free of charge. If you want to present, you must be a member of the CBL-KBL. This means that you have to be registered on the website and have paid your contribution as soon as possible.

PhD students can compete for the Best Paper Presentation Award. If you wish to take part, please mention this in the registration form.

How to get there
The easiest way to reach the venue is by going to the University of Namur by train (7’ walk from the station). Exiting the railway station, cross the street to go to Rue Godefroid and walk straight ahead. At the end of the street, turn right onto “Rue de Bruxelles”, walk for about 200m and the main University building is on the left hand side of the road.

Important dates
– 8 September 2020: abstract submission deadline
– 30 September 2020: notification of acceptance
– 16 October 2020: Linguists’ Day

Contact : journee-linguistique-cbl@unamur.be

Organizing committee

Laurence Meurant – Laurence Mettewie – Sébastien Vandenitte – Alysson Lepeut – Alice Heylens – Sybille Fonzé – Bruno Sonnemans

Scientific committee

Jóhanna Barðdal (UGent) – Anne Breitbarth (UGent) – Claudia Crocco (UGent) – Timothy Colleman (UGent) – Sophie Collonval (UNamur) – Bert Cornillie (KU Leuven) – Walter Daelemans (UAntwerpen) Jeroen Darquennes (UNamur) – Kristin Davidse (KU Leuven) – Philippe De Brabanter (ULBruxelles), Gert De Sutter (UGent) – Patrick Dendale (UAntwerpen) – Thomas François (UCLouvain) – Alex Housen (VUBrussel) – Marie-Aude Lefer (UCLouvain) – Alysson Lepeut (UNamur) – Nicolas Mazziotta (ULiège) – Fanny Meunier (UCLouvain) – Laurence Meurant (UNamur) – Tanja Mortelmans (UAntwerpen) – Magali Paquot (UCLouvain) – Julien Perrez (ULiège) – Marie Steffens (ULiège /UUtrecht) – Benedikt Szmrecsanyi (KU Leuven) – Martina Temmerman (VUBrussel ) – Johan van der Auwera (UAntwerpen) – Sébastien Vandenitte (UNamur) – Guido Vanden Wyngaerd (KU Leuven) – Freek Van de Velde (KU Leuven) – Gudrun Vanderbauwhede (UMons) – An Van linden (ULiège) – Marleen Van Peteghem (UGent)