Householder Award

Nominations are solicited for the Alston S. Householder Award XV (2014). The award will be given to the author of the best dissertation in numerical linear algebra. The PhD degree must have been earned between January 1, 2011, and December 31, 2013. The dissertation must have fulfilled all requirements for a US PhD degree or equivalent. For candidates from countries in which a formal dissertation is not normally written at that level, an equivalent piece of work may be submitted. The term numerical linear algebra is intended to describe those parts of mathematical research that have both linear algebraic aspects and numerical content or implications. Thus, for example, a dissertation concerned with the numerical solution of differential equations or the numerical solution of an optimization problem will be eligible if linear algebra is central to the research contribution.

The candidate's research supervisor or sponsor must submit a copy of the dissertation and an appraisal through the link below. At least one other letter of recommendation supporting the nomination is required. All materials must be submitted in pdf format and be received no later than January 31, 2014.

Click here to go to the Householder Award nomination page.

Click here to submit a letter to support a Householder Award nomination.

The award will be presented at the Householder Symposium XIX, in Spa Belgium, 8-13 June 2014. Candidates on the short list will receive invitations to the meeting. Entries will be evaluated by an international committee whose members are

Michele Benzi, Emory University, USA
Inderjit Dhillon, UT Austin, USA
Howard Elman, University of Maryland, USA
Volker Mehrmann, Technical University of Berlin, Germany (chair)
Francoise Tisseur, University of Manchester, UK
Stephen Vavasis, University of Waterloo, Canada

The Householder Award is given every three years. It was established at the 1969 Gatlinburg Symposium (now renamed the Householder Symposium) to recognize the outstanding contributions of Alston S. Householder (1904-1993) to numerical analysis and linear algebra.

Previous Householder Award winners were

1971   François Robert (University of Grenoble)
1974   Ole Hald (New York University)
1977   Daniel D. Warner (University of California, San Diego)
1981   Eduardo Marques de Sa' (University of Coimbra);
    Paul Van Dooren (K. U. Leuven)
1984   Ralph Byers (Cornell University);
    James M. Demmel (University of California, Berkeley)
1987   Nicholas J. Higham (University of Manchester)
1990   Alan Edelman (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) ;
    Maria Beth Ong (University of Washington)
1993   Hong-Guo Xu (Fudan University) ;
    Barry Smith (New York University)
1996   Ming Gu (Yale University)
1999   Jörg Liesen (University of Bielefeld)
2002   Jing-Rebecca Li (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)
2005   Jasper van den Eshof (Utrecht University)
2008   David Bindel (University of California, Berkeley)
2011   Bart Vandereycken (KU Leuven)
    Paul Willems (Bergische Universität Wuppertal)


      For additional information, please contact us